I hate this time of year

Well, not completely. I guess what I really mean is I have a love/hate relationship with this time of year. I’m sure everybody can relate in some capacity (or I could just be crazy – it wouldn’t be unusual).

Let me tell you why I love this time of year: everybody gets psyched over new healthy lifestyle goals. You know, all those resolutions: I’ll cut out pop, exercise more, eat more veggies, etc. And as a future dietitian I love hearing people say that. I want more than anything for people to succeed with their healthy lifestyle goals for 2016.

But how many of you swear those things are going to happen (or have heard people say they’ll stick to them) and then come March it’s like they were never even made. Sound familiar? That’s why I hate this time of year. People choose goals that aren’t SMART (specific, measurable, achievable, results-focused, and time-bound) in January, and they forget them two months later. Not to mention being bombarded by diet and exercise fads everywhere you turn. Maybe it’s just because I’m in the field and paying attention, but this year there seems to be more weight loss propaganda out there than any other year before.

So how can you make sure you’re successful and not conned into following a new diet fad to reach your 2016 resolutions?

  1. Set specific, measurable, and time-bound goals. Instead of “I want to lose weight” do “I want to lose 5 pounds every month for the next year”.
  2. Evaluate every diet claim that’s being thrown your way right now with a very critical eye. You should always do this, but right now the diet industry is capitalizing off everyone’s desire to start the new year on a healthy note.
  3. Realize that your successes this year will not be accomplished in one day, or even one week. Take your time to transform your habits into healthier ones that you can keep up for the rest of your life.

I hope these general tips are helpful as we continue to move forward in 2016. Remember, it’s important to listen to your body and make small changes to have lasting results.

Good luck with your New Year’s Resolutions everyone!

Leave a Reply

