Why You Should Include Exercise in Your Week

In addition to good nutrition of course!

Hello everybody! I hope you had a wonderful weekend. I was able to visit with my mom this weekend for her birthday, so I really enjoyed my time and took a bit of a mental break from all things school and work. It was really lovely to be honest. I know I’ve taken up a lot more this semester with my role as the graduate assistant in the wellness center and as secretary of the nutrition club on campus, but whew have things been hectic.

Anyways, despite things being crazy I’ve been determined to keep a workout schedule. I don’t know about you, but if I don’t workout regularly I begin to feel like crap. I get moody and angsty and I begin to feel body image issues creeping back into my life. It can be awful really. Luckily, I’ve discovered a YouTube channel that does awesome, short workouts that are still really intense and make you break a sweat. If you haven’t heard of FitnessBlender you need to go check them out. Now. Don’t worry, I’ll wait.

Did you check them out? Good. They have so many different workouts, short and long, that I hardly feel the need to go anywhere else if I’m looking to get my butt kicked. I don’t even use a gym (even though I get a free membership at the Y) and I can tailor the workout to my small(ish) bedroom in my apartment. The only time I ever venture away from them is when I need a really nice, good yoga workout (they have those too, but I’m talking about a channel that focuses specifically on yoga).

ExerciseI try to workout most days (5ish days a week depending on the week). Some days require short, 30-minute workouts and some days I can do an hour long workout. I mix it up with strength training, HIIT, cardio, yoga, etc. And luckily I can find that all in one place. But what’s most important here is: I exercise frequently during the week in addition to eating (mostly) healthy to make sure I can function optimally, my spirits are up, and I don’t get moody.

Now that I’ve blathered on about myself, why should YOU exercise?

  1. For mental clarity and as an opportunity to de-stress. Working out can take away the stressors of the day and give you time for yourself away from all other distractions and things that might be bothering you.
  2. To improve your mood. Exercise releases endorphins which are hormones that are associated with making you feel good and improves your mood. If you’re feeling particularly angsty I suggest doing something active to improve your outlook.
  3. To keep your body moving the way it was suposed to. Our bodies weren’t made to sit all day everyday. By staying active you’re forcing your body to get up and move in different ways which increases muscle tone and prevents things like arthritis. A body in motion, stays in motion while a body at rest, stays at rest remember. The more active you are, the easier it will be to maintain.
  4. To improve digestion. Putting it simply: the more you move your body, the more your digestive tract moves. The more it moves, the quicker things move through it. In the end you’ll feel so much better.
  5. For your heart, your lungs, and every other organ in between. Because exercise works these organ systems they will have the ability to function optimally since you’re working them consistently.

Exercise2These are just some of the many reasons to exercise but there are so many more. I purposely left off weight loss because, while that is a significant reason for many individuals and can be due to health concerns, I wanted to focus on benefits other than weight loss. The number on the scale is not the most important thing in my opinion. We all have our own reasons why we workout, but from an objective standpoint these are a few good reasons why you might want to consider starting up a fitness routine.**

Exercise3I think I might do a little series focused on sports nutrition and working out for the next few posts. It’s something I’m very passionate about but have yet to explore so I think it might be fun! What do you guys think?

Enjoy your week!

❤

**As a caveat, before you start any routine you should always consult with your doctor!

Question of the week: why do you workout?

Image Credit: Image 1 (everydaylisamae.wordpress.com); Image 2 (www.nicevillestrength.com); Image 3 (www.webmd.com)

One thought on “Why You Should Include Exercise in Your Week

  1. Pingback: How to: Refuel After Your Workout! | forksandnature

Leave a Reply

