Eating Well, Short on Time

Hello everybody! I hope you all had a great weekend. Now it’s back to the daily grind, and boy is this week going to be a busy one. On Friday I have my final Food Science project where we’re creating an entire luncheon party for members of my school’s faculty. It should be a ton of fun, but as with all big projects most of the week is going to be devoted to that amongst other things. Not to mention we only have 3 weeks of classes left!
Anyways, today I thought I’d continue expanding on this little series I inadvertently created when I posted my grocery haul a couple weeks back. This week we’re talking about how you can still eat well, even when you’re short on time. Aside from money, time is another huge constraint that gets in people’s way of eating healthily.

Let’s face it: as a student I don’t have the time to whip up an extravagant dinner every night. And let me be honest with you, I opt for convenience most nights anyway. But opting for convenience doesn’t mean I sacrifice the healthy and wholesome food I know my body needs to function well.
Crafting a good meal while keeping it quick can be simple with these easy tips:
1. The microwave can be your friend. And I’m not saying use it every night, but in a pinch grabbing those steamable veggies or the 90 second rices can make for a quick meal that’s full of good nutrients and fiber your body will appreciate. Throw in a can of black beans (that you’ve rinsed first!) and you have yourself a complete and nutritious meal.
2. Meal prepping! Taking one or two days of the week to cook your meats, grains, veggies, etc. ahead of time can really save you from doing the last thing you want to do at the end of a long day (ie: slave over a hot stove for hours on end). These foods will keep at least a couple days to a week depending on what it is, and you can create a slew of basics that you can pair up in a variety of ways to keep it interesting and simple throughout the week.
(Most of the pasta dishes I come up with I make in huge batches that I’ll divvy up for the week)
3. This goes along with #2, but be organized! Know what you’ll be making throughout the week and stick to that menu. That way you know what you can either a. make ahead of time or b. know what you’re having and not be trying to figure it out after a long day at school/work/etc.
(It’s a bit of a mess, but I try)
4. Most importantly, set the intention to eat well throughout the week. The more you consciously aim to eat well and set yourself up for success, the less you will opt for take-out or frozen entree’s. The power of thought and setting these intentions can be such a powerful thing. By giving yourself the right tools (ie: planning, meal prepping, having healthy food on hand) and setting the intention to eat well, you can succeed even when you’re short on time.
I hope these tips are helpful! I know we’re all short on time in so many circumstances, so tips like these can apply to anyone. And perhaps it helps to reduce that hurdle that many feel they have to overcome to eat healthy.
Have a wonderful rest of your week!
Question of the week: what are your top tips for fast, convenient, but healthy meals?
One thought on “Eating Well, Short on Time

  1. Pingback: Breakfast – Tips and Tricks for the Most Important Meal | forksandnature

Leave a Reply

